Results :: Chichester Y.C. Silver Tiller

31/03/2018 31/03/2018


Chichester Yacht Club's first open event of the "Summer" season was a combined event for the Merlins and the Hadron H2. The day started with many travelling boats being assembled in the car park of the sailing club on a cold and overcast morning with a light to medium wind from the west.
The Race Officer, Richard Anderton, set a triangle-sausage course across the lake, trying to maximise the length of the beat in the westerly wind. The racing started at 11am as soon as the water was deep enough for the Merlins to sail over Monkey Island in the middle of the lake.
There was a good turn out of 28 Merlins to attend the first race in their Silver Tiller series. At quality of the fleet was demonstrated by half the fleet claiming a top 5 result in one or more races. In Race 1, the winner was Chris Gould and Chris Kilsby. The course had to be relaid before race two due to a southerly shift in the wind, Race 2 was won by Christian Birrell and Sam Bevoy. Race three was won by Ben and Roz McGrane from Netley SC.
When the series results were calculated Ben and Roz McGrane were the winners with 4 points, then three boats had 5 points, with Christian Birrel and Sam Bevoy taking second place, Chris Gould and Chris Kilsby taking third and Roger and Jane Gilbert fourth.
For the second year, the event was shared with the Hadron H2 open meeting. This year 7 boats travelled to the event. The clear winner with three first places was Ian Dawson from Warsash SC, Second was Simon Hipkin from Walton and Frinton SC and third was Richard Holden from Arun YC. At the prize giving the designer of the Hadron boats, Keith Callaghan, donated prizes to award to each of the competitors.
More photos available in the CYC album


Overall Results:
PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3Pts
1st3739Ben McGraneRoz McGraneNetley SC-6314
2nd3788Christian BirrellSam Brevoy -5145
3rd3778Chris GouldChris KilsbyMidland SC14-105
4th3722Roger GilbertJane GilbertFrensham Pond SC32-65
5th3726Will HendersonMary HendersonSalcombe YC-10729
6th3764Tim FellsFran GiffordSalcombe YC & Ranelagh SC7-8310
7th3741Simon LyttonJackie LyttonHISC210-1112
8th3746Dan WillettPete NicholsonBrightlingsea SC4-12812
9th3742Peter BalantineRob AllenSalcombe YC96-1815
10th3795Alex JacksonPippa TaylorShoreham SC8-14917
11th3736Roger PhillipsWill CrockerBurfield SC-13.551318
12th3676William WarrenMaddy AndersonShoreham SC & S'oton Uni SC-1611718
13th3673Caroline CroftSophie PenwardenBartley SC119-1420
14th3656Olly TurnerHolly ScottStarcross SC-2221526
15th3770Jack HoldenTom HarrisonItchenor SC13.513(DNF)26.5
16th3756Sophie MacKleyTom BallantineShoreham SC & Salcombe YC12-191729
17th3652John BellOlivia BellHampton SC1516(DNF)31
18th3766Andy DalbyOli WellsThames Valley SC1718(OCS)35
19th3696Alex WarrenRob HendersonShoreham SC & HISC24(OCS)1236
20th3753Andy BinesRebecca BinesBrightlingsea SC1917(DNF)36
21st3745Paul DeanRussell HallWembley SC-28221537
22nd3690Tim HarridgeLucy BurnLymington Town SC2315(DNF)38
23rd3740Pat BlakeJill BlakeCookham Reach SC20-231939
24th3765Richard DeeNancy GudgeonMidland SC-27251641
25th3732John CooperBecci WigleyLymington Town SC-21202141
26th3773Alan WarrenBill CarrollShoreham SC1826(OCS)44
27th3794Julian HarrisTimothy HarrisMidland SC-25242044
28th3643Adam MacleanOliver MacleanMidland SC26-272248


View All...