Results :: Hollingworth Lake S.C. Fellucca

26/09/2015 27/09/2015


The weekend proved to be a Race Officer's nightmare as whatever light wind there was varied in direction. However, 20 Merlin Rockets took the challenge for a weekend at Hollingworth Lake, joined by 3 more on Sunday.

On Saturday, the Race Officer wondered whether there would be any sailing that day but, after a long postponement, a light easterly (normally a good direction at the Lake) set in. Caroline Croft, with Jane Clayton, led from the start and negotiated flat calms without loss. For two laps there was good racing and then came flat calm and a struggle to complete the race. Local sailors kept their heads to fill the next four places despite the snakes and ladders racing. The order would be critical in the final results with David Winder and Pippa Taylor second, followed by Julian Parry with Becca Jones and Steve Crook crewed by Sally Townend. As usual, there was plenty of time to relax and enjoy the renowned Felucca Supper.

Sunday brought 3 more boats to contest the Silver Tiller element of the event. This time David Winder took control keeping Caroline Croft in second during 2 laps of pleasant sailing in the light easterly wind, which then faded dramatically and boats taking 40 minutes to complete the third lap. The lunch break now saw a big change with a breeze coming from the south-west. So, for Race 3, there was a contrast to the course setting. A clear start saw the fleet spread out with those holding on starboard, seeming to be favoured but risking a flat spot when they tacked. Steve Crook held his nerve and kept tacking along the shore to round the mark ahead, but then overtaken by Caroline Croft. Crook regains the lead and builds a useful lead to the finish as the race is shortened. Croft held second place after taking some risks on the windward leg with a challenge from Andy Smith and Emma Turner, and leading Solo sailor Steve Denison with Ben Rayner.

The pressure of the final race saw a general recall and the black flag. That ensured a clear start with David Winder taking the lead (which he would need to hold to win the overall event). This was short-lived as Nick Heginbotham, with daughter Lucy, overtook downwind and kept a stream of air clear. On the upwind legs the wind, occasionally freshening, is more southerly. Chris Gould and Chris Kilsby take advantage and gain the lead with Steve and Gill Leney in the fray. Four leading boats got away as the wind dropped behind downwind. Crook battling with Matt Biggs and John Hackett both suffer as they saw fresh wind and a group of boats running towards them. In this group, Richard Whitworth and Evan Parry find a better way on the next windward leg to gain a number of places to finish 5th. Gould held the lead to the finish, with the Leneys second and David Winder in third.

So the overall result of the Felucca Trophy was success for the girl team of Caroline Croft and Jane Clayton, while the Silver Tiller result went to David Winder and Pippa Taylor.
By Graham Knox


PosBoat NameSail NoClubHelmCrewR1R2R3R4Pts
1stRevolution3657RYACaroline CroftJane Clayton122‑175
2ndThe Clone Wars3735HLSCDavid WinderPippa Taylor21‑836
3rdNora3678HLSCSteve CrookSally Townend441‑89
3673MidlandChris GouldChris Kilsby66‑7113
5thFaithless3703HLSC/ParkstoneRichard WhitworthEvan Parry53‑6513
6thCarbon Footprint3716BlithfieldSteve LeneyGill Leney78‑14217
3659HLSCJulian ParryBekka Jones3125‑1420
8thDaddy's Boat3679HLSCNick HeginbothamLucy Heginbotham119‑13424
9thThe Phantom Menace3611NottinghamJen DoddsChris Dodds105‑111126
10thOut of the Blue 23557HLSCGuy WinderTom Murphy8‑149926
11thPokin the Turtle3743BlithfieldMatt BiggsJohn Hackett(DNC)715628
12thBeast Quest3761HLSCSteve DenisonBen Rayner14‑1641230
13thBronte3663Blackpool & FleetwoodChris HaworthChris Robinson915‑17731
14thMoist3643HLSCAndy SmithEmma Turner16‑1731332
15thEdgar3615HLSCStuart BatesAndrew Hilton131110‑1534
16thCarpediem3630HLSCBruce MagerRyan Richards‑1710121638
17thLaidback3603HLSCLes BithellRosie Richards1513‑181038
18thAmbience3602WembleyAnthony RickabyMayuri Shah18‑19191956
19thFat Boy Slim3567BlithfieldMartin SmithKaren Beston1918‑202057
20thDominatrex3639Royal NavyBoltonAlan RobertsAlex Pilkington(DNC)DNF161858
21stRobert3756ShorehamWiliam WarrenSophie Mackley12(DNF)DNFDNS60
22ndFilthy Gorgeous3670HLSCGerald WhiteheadOliver Whitehead202121‑2262
23rdDynamo Humm3411NSCDana ChurchJenny Chuen(DNC)20DNF2165


View All...