Results / Midland Circuit

Bartley S.C.
02/04/2023 - 02/04/2023
Silver Tiller:
Multi-Day Silver Tiller:
Regional: M

14 Merlin Rockets were welcomed at Bartley Sailing Club for the third round of the HD Sails Midland Circuit event. The forecasters had promised a day of sunshine and a light north easterly breeze but as opposed to the warm welcome from the club, it was fully dampened by a cold, grey, wet start to the day! Fortunately, the weather gods did deliver sunshine but not so much the breeze which can be best described as tricky.

Despite the difficult conditions Matt Biggs and Beka Jones treated us all to a masterclass in the art of sailing when the vital ingredient refuses to play ball, winning all 4 races. There was another impressive string of consistent results from James Wells and Anna Aylward with Rob Kennaugh and Andy Prosser keeping them honest, in fact all three of the podium crews had their moments during the day by leading the way. Further down the fleet there was a lot of place changes with numerous “hero to zero” issues but everybody finished the day with smiles but tired bodies.

Steve Ward and his team did a sterling job on a day when nobody would want to be a race officer running two races before lunch in Tilly’s Galley and two after and all off the water in good time for a beer and prize giving. The oldest boat prize went to 2734, a wooden classic sailed by Paul Atwell and Lindall Merry and Millie Hardiman sailing with her dad taking the Junior prize. Colin and Sean Anderson won the Silver Fleet and Nigel and Freya Hudson the Bronze fleet.

So, the next round of the HD Sails Midland circuit will be at Burton Sailing Club on Sunday 4th June incorporating a class training day on Saturday 3rd June.

Thank you Mark Reddington for the report.

2023 Merlin Rocket Open Midland Series

Bartley Sailing Club




Sailed: 4, Discards: 1, To count: 3, Entries: 14, Scoring system: Appendix A
Race 1
Race 2
Race 3
Race 4
1st Modern BIGGS Matt JONES Becka 3801 Pokey Gold Bartley SC (1.0) 1.0 1.0 1.0 4.0 3.0
2nd Modern WELLS James AYLWARD Anna 3746 Point n Squirt Gold RYA 2.0 2.0 (3.0) 2.0 9.0 6.0
3rd Modern KENNAUGH Rob PROSSER Andy 3700 Brazilian Gold Midland SC (5.0) 3.0 2.0 3.0 13.0 8.0
4th Modern LENEY Steve LENEY Gillian 3716 Carbon Footprint Gold Blithfield SC 3.0 4.0 (6.0) 4.0 17.0 11.0
5th Modern ANDERSON Colin ANDERSON Sean 3749 Stanley Silver Blithfield SC 4.0 5.0 4.0 (8.0) 21.0 13.0
6th Modern HOLLIS Ben PAUSEY Alex 3732 Two Planks Silver Upper Thames (6.0) 6.0 5.0 5.0 22.0 16.0
7th Modern KEELING Paul KEELING Michele 3667 Last Gasp Silver Blithfield SC 7.0 (9.0) 9.0 6.0 31.0 22.0
8th Modern HUDSON Nigel HUDSON Freya 3662 Attack of the Clones Bronze Bartley SC 8.0 7.0 8.0 (9.0) 32.0 23.0
9th Modern EELES Howard BENNETT Gavin 3742 Speed Machine Bronze Bartley SC (10.0) 8.0 7.0 10.0 35.0 25.0
10th Modern REDDINGTON Mark FOWLER Lewis 3805 Nermal Silver Bartley SC 9.0 10.0 (15.0 DNF) 7.0 41.0 26.0
11th Modern HARDIMAN Simon HARDIMAN Millie 3624 Stab in the Dark Bronze Bartley SC 11.0 (12.0) 10.0 12.0 45.0 33.0
12th Modern BROWNE Guy MARTIN Greg 3619 Dark n Stormy Bronze Trent Valley SC 12.0 11.0 (13.0) 11.0 47.0 34.0
13th Classic COLLES Mike MORGAN Lauren 3530 Sir Topaz Bronze Midland SC (14.0) 13.0 11.0 13.0 51.0 37.0
14th Classic ATWELL Paul MERRY Lindall 2734 Days of Future Past Bronze Llangorse SC 13.0 (14.0) 12.0 14.0 53.0 39.0


Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association