Results / Open Meeting and Annual Dinner

Parkstone Y.C.
22/10/2016 - 22/10/2016
Silver Tiller: O
Multi-Day Silver Tiller:
After a 14 year wait Mike and Jane Calvert recaptured the 2016 Merlin Rocket Craftinsure Silver Tiller Trophy.
The final result of this iconic traveller series was still in doubt as 3 of the 39 competing teams were still able to win the series. The courses were planned as harbour tours but the 5-15knot NW played havoc with the first race starts. Series contenders Simon Potts and Ally Martin with 4 other boats were black flagged, so no pressure there then, but we got away on the 3rd attempt. To quote the legendary Jon Turner, the "Premier Event" was going to provide the fleet with something a bit different. PRO Graham Davis sent us to race off Brownsea Castle and then back to Wills cut. Stu Bithell and Tom Pygall led all the way with Taxi and Alex Warren charging into 2nd place.
The second start and the wind settled down (a bit) and the fleet decided to behave. Ultimately the right side paid up the first beat and Potts/Martin smashed it. Bithell/Pygall sailed nicely into second and Fran Gifford and Toby Lewis sailed an epic last beat to go from about 9th to 3rd.
So going into the last race, Bithell/Pygall were onto win with only Potts/Martin able to stop them, but if they managed to win the race they would not only snatch the event directly from Bithell, but also the Silver Tiller series from the Calverts.
The third race saw a proper use of the top triangle and a monster 2 mile last beat from Long Island back to the club marina. The start for Potts/Martin was not what was needed, and although theirs was a heroic come back, 3rd just wasn't enough to win the final race, open and Silver Tiller series.
Onshore the teams were welcomed with tea and doughnuts, fed an excellent Silver Tiller dinner followed by a wicked band which had young and old dancing. We ate, danced and drank hard, so much so the smoke machine set off the fire alarm which curtailed the evening allowing many to move on to the Bournemouth nightclubs - it was a great day to sail a Merlin, roll on the 2017 series!
PosBoat NameSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3Pts
1stNight Fury3775Stuart BithellTom PygallHollingworth/Whitstable1‑212
2ndMockingjay3777Simon PottsAlly MartinBurghfield(BFD)134
3rdHot Totty3676Frances GiffordToby TasticRanleigh SC‑8347
4thThe Force Awakens3781David WinderPippa TaylorHollingsworth Lake4‑659
5thQuick Fix3691Mike CalvertJane CalvertAxe YC54‑79
6thRobert3756William WarrenSophie MackleyShoreham SC‑109211
7thThe Oldie3673Caroline CroftBeka JonesBlithfield SC3‑19811
8thKeyser Soze3684Andy DavisAlex WarrenBlithfield SC2‑141012
9thMellow Yellow3687Matt GreenfieldHannah GreenfieldChew Valley75‑1712
10thDidley Pokey3754Jon GorringeNicola BassParkstone Yacht Club‑97916
11thFaithless3703Richard WhitworthLucy TylerParkstone YC/Hollingworth Lake12‑23618
12thBazinga3758Tim SaxtonGeorge YeomanBurghfield118‑1519
13thThe Soup Dragon3694Steve TylerAlly TylerParkstone YC‑16101121
14thDancing Brave3763Mark BarnesCharlotte JonesWhistable/Exe6‑171622
15thArwen3726Will HendersonRob HendersonSalcombe YC‑17131225
16thGansta Paradise3539Dan AlsopJennie KingLyme Regis1312‑1925
17thFraglie3727Mark StockbridgeEddy AtkinsRanleigh15‑201328
18thBoadicea3592Nick ScroggieEdward ScroggieParkstone YC(BFD)151429
19thPocket Rocket3566James WellsLiz WellsStarcross1416‑2230
20thMinistry of Pleasure3634Richard CoulterChris HillFishers Green2011‑2331
21stMylo Xyloto3744Chris MartinOliver SwinnockMidlands SC19‑251837
22ndCarbon Foot Print3716Steven LeneyGillian LeneyBlithfield1821(DNF)39
23rdBluebird3683Ben JonesHelen HilditchShoreham SC2218‑2440
24thTime Machine3780Neville HerbertKarl ThorneRoyal Lymington Yacht Club23‑262144
25thGeneral Lee3690Tim HarridgeLucy BurnHampton SC2422‑2746
26thSylvra3711Sam ThompsonLouisa ArcherRNSA(BFD)282048
27thMoondance3547Tim MaleRebecca MaleBlithfield2524‑2949
28thRed Wizard3682Jon StewardAnnabel StewardFishers Green21‑323152
29thNKS3732John CooperBecci WigleyLTSC(BFD)272552
30thOne Love3767Ben ArcherAndy CurrellParkstone Yacht Club27‑292855
31stFactory Maid3704Jemma HughesMartin HughesThames SC2931‑3560
32ndSummit Fever3594Robin Clifton‑DeyMichael Clifton‑DeyWeymouth‑30303060
33rdShiny Happy People3695Pete SlackJeremy DeaconStaunton Harold28‑333361
34thShe's A Cracker3550Richard LilleyLucie WardLymington Town Sailing Club26‑363662
35thFat Boy Slim3567Martin SmithKaren BeysonBlithfield31‑353263
36th3784Mark BarwellLouise JohnsonLymington Town Sailing Club(DNF)DNS2666
37thThe Black Boat3734Phil AshworthAli AshworthWeymouth SC(BFD)343468
38thPanther3774Jon TurnerRichard ParsonLyme Regis(DSQ)DSQDSQ80
38thSmokey3733Nick SimmonsFiona MayoLymington Town SC(DSQ)DSQDSQ80

Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association