Results / De May Series Open + 70th Celebrations

Upper Thames S.C.
10/09/2016 - 10/09/2016
Silver Tiller:
Multi-Day Silver Tiller:
Vintage: Y
Last weekend 10th and 11th October saw a large gathering of Merlin Rockets, sailors and boats, past and present, at Upper Thames Sailing Club for a grand celebration weekend.
The UTSC Merlin Open was the venue not just for the De May Vintage Series on Saturday and the Silver Tiller on Sunday, but the club was honoured to host the 70th birthday party for the Merlin Rocket Owners Association.
Unfortunately Saturday's weather was grey and rainy but that didn't deter the determined fleet and the photos show the spirit of strong competition and friendly reunion that was enjoyed on the day.
Racing started promptly with 23 boats on the angled start line for the first of the two MROA De May series races (sail number up to 3357), and all were thrilled to see Merlin number 1, Kate, competing, helmed by Mervyn Allen with crew Lora Stock.
The first race was won by Laurie Smart and Vanessa Pilon in Flipside 1065, followed by Crescendo 607 helmed by Berry Ritchie with crew Sue Harris, and then 3rd were Alex Jackson and Rachael in Katy-Lou 1493. Martin Hunter and Tom Walker sailing Lady Luck 1477 won the second race, followed by Laurie and Vanessa, then Berry and Sue. So the De May winners at UTSC this year were locals Laurie and Vanessa.
Next was the star attraction of the weekend, a Champion of Champions race with historic winning boats and senior helms being matched with younger champions for a once-in-a-decade classic exhibition of how to race on the Thames. The MROA made a film record of the racing and it can be seen on their Facebook page. Winners were Passing Cloud 1079, helmed by Dave Dobrijevic (National Champion crew in 1999) with crew Alex Jackson, then Grand Teton 1201 with John Bell and Graham Williamson (National winners in 2000), and relative youngsters Stu Bithell and Tom Pygall (2014) coming in 3rd in Night Fury 3775.
The fourth race of the day, now open to newer boats, was for the beautiful Spade Oak Bowl, and was another chance for a display of skills. It was won by Stu Bithell and Tom Pygall in Night Fury, with Richard and Harry Harris second in Passing Cloud, and third were Laurie Smart and Vanessa Pilon in Flipside.
UTSC's luck with the weather returned as the rain lifted just in time for the party, hosted by the Merlin Rocket Owners Association, with past Champions as honoured guests. All enjoyed a welcome drink and canapes during speeches from the balcony. This was followed by a buffet supper, with candlelight tables laid inside the clubhouse, the marquee and overflowing onto the lawn, and then dancing till late.
Sunday's (sunny) Silver Tiller racing is reported separately. Photos of the whole weekend can be seen on the gallery on the UTSC website, Event Photo's Here

Merlin Open 2016 - De May Series

Upper Thames Sailing Club

Results are final as of 10:28 on September 13, 2016


Sailed: 2, Discards: 0, To count: 2, Ratings: PY, Entries: 27, Scoring system: Appendix A
1stFlipside1065Laurie SmartVanessa PilonUTSC9601.
2ndCrescendo607Berry RitchieSue HarrisTamesis9802.
3rdLady Luck1477Martin HunterTom WalkerUTSC10005.
4thPassing Cloud1079Andrew HarrisSara Warren9704.
5thKaty-Lou1493Alex JacksonRachaelHampton SC9503.
6thPanatella3165Pat BlakeJilly BlakeCookham Reach SC7.
7thGrand Teton1201John BellGraham WilliamsonHampton SC9806.
8thMasquerade995Matt JonesBenTamesis8.
9thTiercel901Chris GouldChris KilsbyBSC/TSC97013.
10thNitro2972Nick CrickmoreRichard HolmesWOBYC99011.
11thRobin Hood2040Alex PauseyMatt Percival-SteinUTSC98010.
12thWild Waters1700Pete WalkerDebbie WalkerUTSC9909.
13thReiver1906Judith MasseyPippa TaylorHayling Island99012.
14thSatisfaction2604Jeremy SteinSarah PercivalUTSC94014.
15thPooh1189Ben MarshallSel ShahTSC99015.
16thThe Flame3339Tim MaleRebecca MaleBlithfield95019.
17thExequisite2266Chris RathboneTom PretonUTSC94018.
18thNutshell1742Jon StewardAnnabelFishers Green97028.0 OCS13.041.041.0
19thKate1MervinLora StockRanelagh106016.028.0 DNF44.044.0
20thGrace1765Alan MarkhamSue MarkhamUTSC100017.028.0 DNC45.045.0
21stWhyte Lyre2967Mark GouldJacob GouldUTSC97020.028.0 DNC48.048.0
22ndRapport3247Alistair PatersonAndrew PatersonUTSC95021.028.0 DNC49.049.0
23rdSilver Dollar3340Mark Baggs UTSC98028.0 DNC28.0 DNC56.056.0
23rdBananarama3293Harry KearnsMargaretta HermanUTSC98028.0 DNF28.0 DNC56.056.0
23rdShindig3502Scott SmithDavid CopseUTSC28.0 DNC28.0 DNC56.056.0
23rdGandalf1057Ian Scott 28.0 DNC28.0 DNC56.056.0
23rdFirestarter3548Kevin RoseTim WilliamsUTSC28.0 DNC28.0 DNC56.056.0


Champion of Champions Results are final as of 10:39 on September 13, 2016


Sailed: 1, Discards: 0, To count: 1, Ratings: PY, Entries: 12, Scoring system: Appendix A
1stPassing Cloud1079BosniaAlex Jackson1.01.01.0
2ndGrand Teton1201John BellGraham WilliamsonHampton SC2.02.02.0
3rdNight Fury3775Stu BithellTom Pygal3.03.03.0
4thSatisfaction2604John TurnerRichard Parslow4.04.04.0
5thKaty-Lou1493Richard WhitworthMatt Mee5.05.05.0
6thKeyser Soze3684TaxiAlex Warren6.06.06.0
7thPanatella3165Pat BlakeKeith CallaghanCookham Reach SC7.07.07.0
8thUnfinished business3549Mike CalvertJane C.
9thMoist3643William WarrenChris Robinson9.09.09.0
10thGangsta Paradise3539Phil KingKevin Driver10.010.010.0
11thWild Card3656Ollie TurnerSam Mottershead11.011.011.0
12thFlipside1065Alan WarrenBarry Dunning12.012.012.0

Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association