Results / Felucca

Hollingworth Lake S.C.
11/10/2014 - 12/10/2014
Silver Tiller: R
Multi-Day Silver Tiller: Both
David Winder and Pippa Taylor were the decisive winners of the Silver Tiller Open at Hollingworth Lake, for the Felucca Trophy. 22 boats, of which 11 were visitors, entered despite a poor forecast for wind strength. The schedule was for 3 races on Saturday and 2 on Sunday. After a short postponement on Saturday, the Race Officer decided that there was enough wind from a westerly direction to start racing. Although shifty, the wind held to give testing windward legs and hiking conditions at times for the helm, at least.

The first race set off with a clear start. There was a close pack round the windward mark where Nick Heginbotham and Jane Clayton had the lead. The following reach led to a mark where difficult decisions were made. Some gybed on to the run while others held on starboard. This tactical run gave David Winder the chance to hold to the Lake shore and break through at the leeward mark. Richard Whitworth, with long experience of the Lake, and Caroline Croft secured second place with Heginbotham holding on to third. Winder went on to secure an unassailable lead. Matt Biggs and John Hackett challenged but had to accept fourth place.

Race 2 inevitably suffered a recall and a black flag was signalled after an adjustment to the start line. This kept the fleet in order. This time, although Winder was the early leader, Jen Taylor and Chris Dodds found a good track up the first beat and were ready for the chase and held their second place. Behind them Heginbotham had to work hard to keep Andy 'Taxi' Davis and Alex Warren behind. Another local sailor, Julian Parry with Becca Jones had a better race and took fifth place.

Following a lunch break, the third race had a new leader. Having retired during the second race, Ben Hollis and Joe Tosh were sufficiently refreshed and led from the first mark. Behind them was veteran Guy Winder and Tom Murphy, nicely ahead of son David. Hollis's lead was insecure from the harrying pack behind and Guy Winder briefly took the lead. With much place changing Taxi gained the lead on the second lap but David Winder was pressing hard while others including Heginbotham and Steve Crook with Sally Townend were also in the frame. During the third and final lap David Winder got the advantage on Taxi to score his third win.

The fleet were all conscious that the forecast for Sunday included morning fog and very still conditions until midday at least. However, there was the usual excellent dinner to enjoy and socialise. So, it was not unexpected that racing was postponed at first on Sunday and, with no sign of likely wind developing, the cancellation flag was flown. So David Winder and Pippa Taylor were the very clear winners of the Felucca Trophy.
By Graham Knox
PosBoatSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3Pts
1stThe Clone Wars3735David WinderPippa TaylorHLSC‑1112
2ndKeyser Soze3684Andy DavisAlex WarrenBlithfield SC‑10426
3rdDaddys Boat3679Nick HeginbothamJane ClaytonHLSC33‑46
4thPo'kin' The Turtle3743Matt BiggsJohn HackettBlithfield SC4‑937
5thFaithless3703Richard WhitworthCaroline CroftParkstone & HLSC26‑138
6thThe Phantom Menace3611Jen TaylorChris DoddsNottingham SC82‑910
7thNora3678Steve CrookSally TownendHLSC6‑8511
8thZeno3659Julian ParryBecca JonesHLSC‑115813
9thCarbon Foot Print3716Steve LeneyGill LeneyBlithfield SC77‑1214
10thOut Of The Blue 23557Guy WinderTom MurphyHLSC9‑10615
11thLaidback3603Les BithellLaura AshworthHLSC513‑1518
12thWho Dares Wins3688Ben HollisJoe ToshRYA13(DNF)720
13thBronte3663Chris HaworthMichael HamiltonBlackpool & Fleetwood12‑151022
14thFree Bird3596Martin WattsRene WattsHLSC‑14121123
15thCarpe Diem3630Bruce MagerRyan RichardsHLSC‑15111425
16thFifty Shades3723Nick BrookRhiann ParryHLSC(DNF)141630
17thFilthy Gorgeous3670Gerald WhiteheadDave Thompson/Chrisv EssexHLSC‑19161733
18thFat Boy Slim3567Martin SmithKaren BestonBlithfield SC1717‑2034
19thTickle Pink3755Peter JacksonMike WilsonBlackpool & Fleetwood SC18‑191836
20thCrystal Balls3414Ian LaingSteve McCannHLSC‑20181937
21stStarlight Express3360Chris ScottGuy ScottLeigh & Lowton SC16(DNS)DNS39
22ndLight Fantastic3555Ian MacKenzieAngela MacKenzieBlithfield SC2120(DNS)41

Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association