Results / National Championships (Day 2)

Looe S.C.
10/08/2014 - 15/08/2014
Silver Tiller:
Multi-Day Silver Tiller:
Wow, what a day that was! After much debate about the sanity of launching into what looked like extreme conditions, the race office called the fleet out to play and they were confronted by a solid force five westerly and epic waves. Following the abandonment of Sunday's racing, there were two races scheduled of 50 minutes duration meaning much shorter legs for the four lap course.

Race one started at the first time with a lot of the fleet line shy in the big conditions. Those who started near the pin and then got onto port were in the driving seat as the breeze went 10 deg left. Defending champions Nick Craig and Alan Roberts powered their way in from the left to lead a very tightly bunched pack from which 2010 and 2012 champion Stu Bithell and Tom Pygall emerged to give chase followed by 2011 champion Andy Davis with Simon Blake.

The second beat was extraordinary as Armageddon arrived with black skies, a clap of thunder, wind rapidly pushing up to 36 knots and horizontal rain/hail in a complete white out. Racing continued unabated and fortunately the line squall was through before the leaders had to tackle the run. The leading three continued to hold position to the finish but behind them there was a good scrap taking place. Dave Wade and Ben Rayner put the hammer down and came through to fourth ahead of Jon Gorringe and Toby Lewis, and Tim Fells and Chris Downham in sixth.

Race two started in superb conditions with Force 4-5 from 235 deg and bright sunshine. Again the fleet were away first time from a slightly port biased line. Those who traded the bias for the ability to get onto port early were the winners with Stu and Tom nailing the beat to take a clear lead from Jon and Toby. Taxi and Simon were chasing again in third.

With the right corner continuing to pay, place changing was hard up the beat but negotiating the downwind legs in one piece was proving difficult. While the leading three kept their positions, Nick and Alan, who were lying fifth, dismounted on the run to give all other mere mortals hope. Jon Turner and Richard Parslow took up the chase in fourth and held on well down a huge final reach to the downwind finish. Tim and Chris completed a tidy day in fifth ahead of Chris Jennings and Ally Martin.

Stu and Tom take the early lead with 1,2 from Taxi and Simon with 3,3 and Jon and Toby with 5,2.
Results after Day 2: (two races)

PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2Pts
1st3742Stuart BithellTom PygallHollingworth213
2nd3684Andy DavisSimon BlakeBlithfield336
3rd3754Jon GorringeToby LewisParkstone527
4th3764Tim FellsChris DownhamHayling Island6511
5th3761Dave WadeBen RaynerNorthampton41014
6th3749Nick CraigAlan RobertsFrensham Pond11415
7th3729John TurnerRichard ParslowLyme Regis11415
8th3712Ian SharpsJustin DealBurghfield9817
9th3658Chris JenningsAlly MartinBurghfield13619
10th3753Simon PottsLuke ShawShustoke10919
11th3758Jasper BarnhamGraham SextonSnettisham Beach81321
12th3759Sam PascoeAlex AdamsCastle Cove71522
13th3756William WarrenMark OakleyShoreham121224
14th3735Dave WinderPippa TaylorHollingworth151631
15th3752Will RaineyAndy DouglasShoreham30737
16th3690Tim HarridgeDave ReidHampton201737
17th3746Dan WilletPete NicholsonBrightlingsea191938
18th3707Alex JacksonSimon HaightonShoreham281139
19th3766Andy DalbyAndrea RalphHampton182442
20th3703Richard WhitworthSally TownendHRSC & Parkstone162743
21st3691Mike CalvertIan GarwoodAxe172643
22nd3711Dave LeeJuliet PealingStarcross212243
23rd3656Oliver TurnerAlex WarrenStarcross261844
24th3676Tim HarrisonFrances GiffordRanelagh242044
25th3727Mark StockbridgeAlyson RumballRanelagh253257
26th3685Sophie MackleyJames WarrenShoreham233861
27th3733Tom StewartPhil DalbyNorthampton224062
28th3700Phil EmeryKaren EmeryWhitstable323163
29th3710Jon IbbotsonChris KilsbyRanelagh343064
30th3659Julian ParryRebecca JonesHollingworth422365
31st3687Matt GreenfieldHannah PlayfordWembley402565
32nd3751Mark BarwellLouise JohnsonLymington town333366
33rd3675Mike FenwickPenny FenwickWeymouth382967
34th3765Richard DeeChris GouldMidland363470
35th3566James WellsLiz WellsStarcross353671
36th3696Alan WarrenBill CarollStarcross442872
37th3683Ben JonesHelen HilditchTenby/RORC373774
38th3734David HayesJonny RatcliffeHayling Island14DNC78
39th3697Richard PageGeorge WarrenHampton413980
40th3688Ben HollisCaroline CroftRYADNF2185
41st3721Nick TurnerCarly GurrStarcross434588
42nd3619Guy BrowneAndy HunterTrent Valley484189
43rd3576Vyv GameMike TuckettStarcross474390
44th3574John DonoghueAdam HaylerTata SC464490
45th3539Dan AlsopNix Middleton‑StewartLyme Regis27DNC91
46th3698Graham Cranford‑SmithFiona Cranford‑SmithSalcombe29DNF93
47th3640Rien ZilvoldPhil ScottWhitstable31DNC95
48th3547Tim MaleRebecca MaleBlithfieldDNC3599
49th3709Tom LonsdaleAlice MarkhamUpper Thames39DNF103
50th3744Chris MartinJoe ToshBlithfieldDNC42106
51st3651Colin BrockbankMarion ReadWembley45DNC109
52nd3660John BuckleyWilliam AndersonStarcrossDNCDNC128
52nd3648Antonia WrightJamie WrightShorehamDNFDNC128
52nd3730Peter ScottHolly ScottShustokeDNCDNC128
52nd3767Ben ArcherPhilippa DanielsParkstoneDNCDNC128
52nd3555Ian MackenzieLuke TuckerBlithfieldDNCDNC128
52nd3564Rob KennaughAbigail SpurrMidlandDNCDNC128
52nd3518Julian HarmsTimothy HarmsMidlandDNCDNC128
52nd3569Duncan BellGabby PauseyHamptonDNFDNC128
52nd3666Peter BallantineAndy RamusSalcombeDNFDNC128
52nd3740Pat BlakeJilly BlakeCookham ReachDNCDNC128
52nd3327Peter WainwrightTracy SmithBlithfieldDNCDNC128
52nd3732Alistair GlenMoira GlenStarcrossDNCDNC128

Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association