Topic : discussion in pub rules

tacking within 2 boats lengths (2bls) of windward mark

we actually agreed on a port rounding incoming port tack boat cant tack within 2bls of the mark if they make starboard boats alter course to avoid them

but question was does this apply to starboard rounding where a starboard boat tacks with 2 bls infront of a port boat

another related question is do other champs fleets normally have a starboard rounding champs course

Posted: 08/11/2007 08:32:47
By: Megan
Sadly not; the port hand windward mark queue of Starboard boats is just a wall to go behind or if very lucky pick your way through it makes windward legs biase to toward the right hand side irrispective of if it is the way to go.

Posted: 08/11/2007 08:37:23
By: Ancient Geek
I would guess it also applies to a starboard boat tacking under a port boat but much more difficult to enforce as the starboard boat retains right of way up until it tacks and can force the port boat to take avoiding action - (tack , bear away ) and then complete it's tack.

Posted: 08/11/2007 10:27:47
By: Racer
Rule 18.3 covers this situation.  As I see it, if you tack within 2 boat lengths of a mark and cause another boat to alter course to avoid you, or you don't allow it room at the mark if it becomes overlapped inside you, then you are in the wrong and should take a penalty.

Posted: 08/11/2007 10:51:15
By: Mike Anslow
yeah i agree with Mike , for me on a starboard rounding a boat coming in on starboard must not  tack so that a port boat has to avoid it, and also he must give room for a port boat to come between him and the mark

Posted: 08/11/2007 11:05:47
By: Megan
This is why most big event courses are port hand rounding - except for team racing

Posted: 08/11/2007 14:44:02
By: Pat Blake
but I think you will find the rule says "not cause the stbd boat to luff above close hauled". If the stbd boat has to luff - because he is overstanding for example - but he doesn't go above close hauled then as long as the port tack boat completes its tack in time - as per normal - then the inside/tacking boat is ok.

Posted: 08/11/2007 17:57:24
By: rule watcher
hum think that is a bit of a fine point, i wouldnt take the risk coming in on port on the thought that the starboard boats are of the wind a wee bit

Posted: 09/11/2007 07:19:09
By: Megan
Exactly the problem of going Port hand round, however Pat is right about the problem with marks to Starboard the Danes use a local rule that a starboard tack boat at a windward mark must allow a boat ahead to tack onto port to round the mark within five boats lengths of a mark. Seems to work, however the  point is unless you are very clear ahead or the fleet is well strung out (Both increasingly rare occasions in any fleet!)the winward mark is always (No matter Port or Starboard round.) crowded and a bit of common sense helps.

Posted: 09/11/2007 12:25:13
By: Ancient Geek
The whole point of rule 18.3 is to encourage port tackers approaching a congested port hand windward mark to approach about three boat lengths below the port tack lay line so that they can complete their tack when clearly outside the two length zone. You are a sitting duck if you tack onto starboard tack inside the two boat lengths.

Posted: 09/11/2007 13:47:38
By: Barry Dunning
At the risk of diverting, Barry, there is some discussion on Substitute (3136) on the measurement thread.  Any comment to add?  She was one of yours I believe!  

Tell us about the dagger board incident...

Posted: 09/11/2007 14:08:54
By: The Old Trout
See measurement thread for comments! Barry

Posted: 09/11/2007 17:28:32
By: Barry Dunning


To Reply, please join/renew membership.

Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association