Results / Silver Tiller & Black Tie Dinner & Regional SW

Salcombe Y.C.
28/10/2023 - 28/10/2023
Silver Tiller: O
Multi-Day Silver Tiller: Saturday

The saying goes, ‘It’s always sunny in Salcombe’. On Saturday,17 boats put that theory to the test and were greeted with some incredibly testing conditions. While rain is uncharacteristic of the beautiful seaside town, crazy gusts and wind-shifts are certainly not.

As the first start sounded away, Tim Saxton and Beka Jones showed the fleet their starboard side as they crossed from the beach to take an early lead round number 2. The tide was especially springy however, and with it ebbing out the harbour, the fleet compressed as they headed down towards Crossways (mark number 3). As the pack jostled back and forth in the 20 knot gusts, it was Ollie Meadowcroft and Rob Allen who snuck away as the wind dropped off by Ditch End, pursued by Jon Gorringe and Matt Currell who were seeking the overall win of the Silver Tiller. In the meantime, carnage ensued at the Ferry steps where a huge zephyr knocked over a group of boats, including the returning Nick Craig and Tobytastic Lewis who were learning how to gybe again.

Ollie and Rob took this lead until the very final downwind where disaster struck as they were knocked flat by a huge gust, and Jon and Matt snapped up the win with relish. Mike and Jane Calvert sailed with them through in to 2nd, with Tim and Beka in 3rd.

The fleet, suffering from an overt case of amnesia seemed to forget Tim and Beka’s startline heroics in the previous race and simply allowed them to do it again in race 2. This time he was in the company of Ollie and Rob, as well as Salcombe Grandmasters Will and Mary Henderson. It was those three who led round number 2, with Mike and Jane hunting down the pack. This time it was Tim and Beka’s turn for some Ferry steps calamity, and sadly they were not seen at the front again for that race after a brief swim. Ollie and Rob stretched out in front to take the win by the end, with the Calvert’s taking a second and Jon and Matt keeping their dreams alive by sailing all the way back into 3rd.

Victory for the event was on offer for a number of boats for the overall win as we went into the final race, as well as a unique battle between the Calvert’s and Gorringe/Currell for the Silver Tiller overall itself. It had truly shaped up to be a worthy finale. The wind did not care for our theatrics though, as we found 25 knots had become 5 knots, and we were drifting our way up to mark number 1.

William Warren and Oliver Rayner remembered their favourite thing in the world and took the pin end to port fly the fleet. Jon and Matt followed them in hot pursuit, with the Calvert’s and Ollie and Rob close behind.

On the final beat/run/reach (the wind was entirely unsure as were we), it was Alex Warren and Jonty Freeman who remembered the profound existence of the tide in Salcombe and trickled their way through up the town side. Jon and Matt held on for dear life to take 2nd, with William and Oliver in 3rd.

This therefore sealed the overall win in Salcombe for Jon and Matt, and more importantly gave them the win of both the Craftinsure Silver Tiller (first helm) and the Silver Pole (first crew) – truly an exceptional victory for both. Mike and Jane took 2nd for both the event and the Silver Tiller, demonstrating some impressive consistency in the quality fleet, and giving the spectators a fantastic battle to watch. 3rd was taken by Ollie and Rob who were left to wonder what could’ve been if they had kept their boat upright in race 1!

The competitors then donned their Black-Tie attire and enjoyed a three-course meal courtesy of Salcombe Yacht Club, proceeding to party the night away. Awards were presented for the South-West traveller series as well as the Craftinsure Silver Tiller, as we all reflected on a fantastic year of Merlin Rocket sailing.

Many thanks to Graham Cranford Smith the Race Office team at Salcombe Yacht Club for a spectacular grand finale. Thank you to our series sponsors, Craftinsure, Allen, Aspire Financial Advisers and HD Sails as well as our many supporting sponsors. A huge thank you to everyone on the Merlin Rocket Owner’ Association Committee for all their hard work in bringing the series togethers, with a special mention to Ross Jackson for once again pulling all the results together!

Both Jon Gorringe and Matt Currall said a few words on the night clearly delighted to be taking home this highly coveted trophy for the first time. Jon praised the class for the new events brought in for 2023 especially the Youth and Women’s Championships and how it is wonderful to see the class doing more to create these opportunities.

Congratulations Jon and Matt and all the winners throughout the year.

There is one event left for 2023, our Allen Series Inland Championships which is due to take place at Bartley Sailing Club on 10th December.

The dates for 2024 are now on the Merlin Rocket Website.

Coverage from the event can be found on the MR Facebook page

Thank you Ollie Meadowcroft for the report.

SYC Craft Insure Merlin Open 2023

Salcombe Yacht Club


SYC Craft Insure Merlin Rocket Open


Sailed: 3, Discards: 1, To count: 2, Rating system: PY, Entries: 22, Scoring system: Appendix A
Rank Boat Sail No Made for Crew Name Club R1 R2 R3 Total Nett
1st Didley squat 3791 Jon Gorringe Matt Currell Parkstone YC 1.0 (3.0) 2.0 6.0 3.0
2nd Quick Fix 3691 Mike Calvert Jane Calvert Axe YC 2.0 2.0 (4.0) 8.0 4.0
3rd Maumahara 3812 Ollie Meadowcroft Rob Allen Salcombe YC 4.0 1.0 (7.0) 12.0 5.0
4th Tiger Tiger 3696 Alex Warren Jonty Freeman Shoreham SC 6.0 (7.0) 1.0 14.0 7.0
5th Roberta 3796 William Warren Oliver Rayner Shoreham SC 7.0 (8.0) 3.0 18.0 10.0
6th Skadi 3820 Caroline Croft Livvy Bell Lymington Town Sailing Club (18.0 DNF) 6.0 6.0 30.0 12.0
7th Baloo 3807 Tim Saxton Beka Jones Itchenor 3.0 (11.0) 10.0 24.0 13.0
8th Point N Squirt 3746 James Wells Anna Aylward RYA (8.0) 5.0 8.0 21.0 13.0
9th Arwen 3726 Will Henderson Mary Henderson SYC 10.0 4.0 (11.0) 25.0 14.0
10th Messy Monty 3776 Nick Craig Tobytastic Frensham Burghfield 9.0 (10.0) 5.0 24.0 14.0
11th Black Swan 3803 Chris Gould Sophie Mackley Lymington Town SC and Shoreham SC 5.0 (12.0) 9.0 26.0 14.0
12th Simply Scrumptious 3799 Paul Rayson Christian Hill Salcombe YC / Fishers Green SC 11.0 9.0 (12.0) 32.0 20.0
13th Moondance Assasin 3547 Peter Male Tim Male Blithfield S C (14.0) 13.0 13.0 40.0 26.0
14th Island Girl 3725 Andrew Squire Tristram Squire Salcombe Yacht Club 13.0 15.0 DNF (23.0 DNC) 51.0 28.0
15th 3666 3666 John Meadowcroft Katy Meadowcroft Upper Thames SC 12.0 (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 58.0 35.0
16th MONKEY BUSINESS 3707 Stuart Jenkins Nicola Scaddan Hampton Sailing Club 18.0 DNF (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 64.0 41.0
16th Dumb & Dumber 3700 Robert Kennaugh Andrew PROSSER Midland Sailing Club 18.0 DNF (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 64.0 41.0
18th Filthy Gorgeous 3670 Mark McKeever Siobhan Adams Midland Sailing club (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 23.0 DNC 69.0 46.0
18th Fancy Liquor 3764 Tim Fells Nicola Bass Salcombe Yacht Club (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 23.0 DNC 69.0 46.0
18th Red Mistress 3759 Thomas Gillard Rachael Rhodes Staunton harold SC (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 23.0 DNC 69.0 46.0
18th Blue Tit 3806 Ben Jones Helen Hilditch Shoreham Sailing Club (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 23.0 DNC 69.0 46.0
18th Mellow Yellow 3687 Matthew Greenfield Hannah Greenfield Chew Valley Lake Sailing Club (23.0 DNC) 23.0 DNC 23.0 DNC 69.0 46.0


Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association