Hunts Vintage Open 2008

Merlins arriving at Hunts SC for the second De May vintage Merlin meeting on Saturday 10 May were greeted with blazing sunshine but a distinct lack of wind. When the first race got underway, Mike Liggett (235) and Jonathan Rubin (578) decided to give the others a chance by arriving late at the start. The first four boats slowly drifted around the course initially led by Nick Price in “Diabolo” (214), Leslie Brain’s 1953 Championship winning boat. The first four places were closely fought and on handicap the race was won by Mervyn Allen (799) with Nick Price in second place.

Following lunch, conditions had not improved for the start of the second race and another drifter was on the cards. This time a good start was achieved by all 6 boats. Again lack of wind produced a rather frustrating drift around the course and everybody was relieved to hear the shortened course signal as the lead boat, Nick Crickmore (2972), rounded the leeward mark. Nick was able to hold onto his first place on handicap with Mike Liggett taking second place.

All agreed that a third race was not on the cards and final results were decided on the two races that were sailed. This led to a number of ties on points. Where there were ties, final positions were decided on the boats’ positions in the second race.

Report: Michael Liggett


1st.  2972 “Nitro” - Nick Crickmore and Richard Holmes – Waveney &OB SC
2nd.  799  “Keto” - Mervyn Allen and Lora Stock - Ranelagh SC
3rd.  2337 “Nikkus” - Rick Benson and Andrew Davies - Cam SC
4th.  235  “Squirrel” - Mike Liggett and Jon Cowper  - Hunts SC
5th.  214  “Diabolo” - Nick Price and Cat Price - Ranelagh SC
6th.  578  “ Chindit”  - Jonathan Rubin and Byron Hutton - Brightlingsea SC

See also:
    Photos by Chris Hibbert (Hunts SC website)