Sutton Open 2006

Twelve keen Merlins tuned up for the last event of ten in the 2006 Midland circuit. The podium spots were still open, and all the leading contenders assembled for the usual intriguing complexity of light winds and real warship obstruction.

The first race started with huge port bias, and Peter and Nicki Smith led away around the first marks or so, looking confident. However, Richard Dee, crewed by Chris Martin, coldly played a consistent game to take an impressive lead, leaving the switching and twitching for the next few places.

A change of course, but not bias, saw a repeat performance for the second race, bringing the title chase to an early close. Matt Biggs would be crowned Midland Circuit Champion again, leaving the Smiths to reflect on next year. The third race saw a severely depleted fleet, gifting the race to the new class chairman. Now thatís respect!

Report: Steve Watson

1st:  Richard Dee and Chris Martin 3602
2nd: Peter Smith and Nicki Smith 3549
3rd: Matt Biggs and Davy Crocket 3665
4th: Steve & Gill Leney 3639
5th: Steve Watson & Georgina 3680