Results / Silver Tiller Open Meeting

Wembley S.C.
20/03/2022 - 20/03/2022
Silver Tiller: R
Two Day Silver Tiller: Sunday

The Merlin Rocket fleet descended upon Wembley Sailing club on Sunday 20th March for the Craftinsure Silver Tiller to sunshine and a nice breeze. As is traditional with Wembley, the fleet had a warm welcome with tea & coffee, and a variety of cakes and sandwiches.

The forecast called for the wind to switch off in the early afternoon, so the fleet and the Race Officer were eager to get the racing underway whilst the conditions were good.

25 boats headed out to the first start, with 10 home boats aiming to put the visitors in their place. The relatively short start line made for a full start line, with the first race getting underway on the first attempt. The gusty conditions lead to a real snakes and ladders race, with the top six boats exchanging places around the windward-leeward course. Although put under pressure, Caroline Croft and Rob Henderson managed to secure the race win when it mattered, followed by Simon Potts and Sam Mottershead in second, holding back Tim Saxton and Mary Henderson in third.

The second race got turned around quickly and we rolled into a start sequence. All 25 boats clearly wanted a good start and were pushing hard, a little too hard, leading to a general recall. The Race Officer was having none of it and put up the black flag for the second attempt. With this deterrent, the fleet got underway cleanly and headed around the slightly adapted course. The Henderson family dominated this race, with Arthur Henderson and Livvy Bell bringing up the front, followed by Caroline and Rob, and Tim and Mary.

As soon as the Mars Bars and water was handed out, the wind decided to turn off. The majority of the fleet decided enough was enough and headed back ashore to the agreement of the race committee. Once ashore, the fleet was treated to a first-class curry before prize giving.

Harry and Annabel Steward but in a consistent performance in tricky conditions to secure the Bronze fleet win. Silver fleet was topped by Colin Brockbank and Vana Vlasaki who also came out on top of the 10 Wembley boats. Winners of the centenary prize was Stephen and Gillian Leney finishing 6th overall.  Overall, Caroline and Rob were convincing winners with a 1,2 in the tricky conditions.

Big thanks goes to Wembley sailing club for putting on a great event, with a warm welcome and great food!

Next up the Craftinsure Silver Tiller heads to Blithfield Sailing Club on Sunday 27th March. For the full list of events in 2022 visit

Report by Sam Mottershead

Rank HelmName CrewName SailNo Fleet Club R1 R2 Total Nett
1st Caroline Croft Rob Henderson 3803 Gold Lymington Town SC 1 2 3 3
2nd Tim Saxton Mary Henderson 3807 Gold Itchenor SC 3 3 6 6
3rd Simon Potts Sam Mottishead 3802 Gold Burgfield SC 2 5 7 7
4th Arthur Henderson Livvy Bell 3652 Gold Salcombe YC / Hampton SC 8 1 9 9
5th Alexander Warren Jonty Freeman 3696 Gold Shoreham SC 9 4 13 13
6th Stephen Leney Gillian Leney 3716 Gold Blithfield SC 5 8 13 13
7th Colin Brockbank Vana Vlastaki 3790 Silver Wembley 7 6 13 13
8th Chris Gould Rob Allen 3812 Gold Salcombe YC 6 7 13 13
9th Paul Rayson Chris Hill 3799 Gold Fishers Green SC 4 11 15 15
10th Paul Hollis Paula Mason 3730 Silver Blithfield SC 11 9 20 20
11th Harry Steward Annabel Steward 3575 Bronze Fishers Green SC 12 10 22 22
12th Richard Cooke Arabella Suchy 3715 Bronze Wembley 10 17 27 27
13th Colin Anderson Richard Adams 3749 Silver Blithfield SC 14 14 28 28
14th Jon Steward Russel Hall 3770 Bronze Fishers Green SC 17 12 29 29
15th Dan Heaton Tom Gurney 3772 Bronze Mountbatten SC 13 16 29 29
16th Richard Eastmond Luke Moore 3582 Bronze Wembley SC 19 13 32 32
17th Paul Dean Francesca Dean 3745 Silver Wembley 18 15 33 33
18th Julian Bradley Helen Cafferata 3635 Bronze Wembley 15 19 34 34
19th Maurice Cleal Suzie Brough 3637 Silver Wembley SC 16 18 34 34
20th Joe Shaw Patricia Hickey 3561 Bronze Wembley 21 20 41 41
21st Joh Donaghue John Sankey 3535 Bronze Llandegfedd SC 20 21 41 41
22nd Fred Pargeter Marco Cordeiro 3466 Bonze Wembley 22 22 44 44
23rd John Green Ricky Bindi 3717 Bronze Wembley 23 23 46 46
24th Jemma Horwood Martin Hughes 3704 Bronze Wembley 26.0 RET 26.0 RET 52 52
24th Tom Low Ed Low 3684 Silver West Hoe SC 26.0 RET 26.0 DNS 52 52

Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association