Results / Open Meeting

Shoreham S.C.
26/07/2014 - 27/07/2014
Silver Tiller: S
Multi-Day Silver Tiller: Sunday
Shoreham Sailing Club welcomed 35 Merlin Rockets for a weekend that was unlike any other they had had at Shoreham, in that it didn't blow a force five-six with epic waves, but provided beautiful Mediterranean temperatures and light breezes.

Race one got away under black flag in a force 2-3 south westerly in glorious sunshine. Jon Turner and Richard Parslow lead the fleet round the championship sized course, but having had a head start they never got their gun, handing first place to Dave Winder and Pippa Taylor with Tim Fells and Chris Downham coming through for second, and Richard Whitworth crewed by Sally Townend third.
Race two looked promising as the sea breeze was building nicely, however a large black cloud over Worthing nearly shut it down completely. There was just enough strength behind it to ensure a light and shifty race which was duly won by Whitworth and Townend, with Nick Craig and Alan Roberts second, and the Winder and Taylor team in third.

The evening was spent on the lawns of the club enjoying a fantastic BBQ, beers and the annual egg throwing competition. Joint winners were Tim Harridge and Dave Reid, and Alex Jackson and Simon Haighton.

Sunday's race three started in an overcast and shifty force 2 from the north/northeast. After the regulation general recall, first to the windward mark was Turner and Parslow, with the consistent Winder/Taylor team hot on their heals, followed by Sophie Mackley and James Warren. These three opened up a lead on the pack behind and finished in that order.

Going into the last race the wind remained in the north. With huge shifts and a strong spring tide there was always going to be trouble at the start. The fleet got away again under the black flag and Winder and Taylor showed a clean pair of heals to the chasers and went on to win by a huge margin, from Andy Dalby and Andrea Ralph in their new ship, launched that weekend. Olly Turner and Alex Warren pulled through to finish third.

Overall this gave Dave Winder and Pippa Taylor the weekend, Silver Tiller and Sunday trophies, with Tim Fells and Chris Downham in second and the very consistent Jasper Barnham and Graham Sexton in third. Saturday's trophy went to Richard Whitworth and Sally Townend.

A huge thank you to all the volunteers at Shoreham for running a fantastic event both on and off the water.
By Sophie Mackley
PosBoatSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4Pts
1stThe Clone Wars3735David WinderPippa TaylorHollingworth Lake1‑3214
2ndFancy Liquor3764Tim FellsChris DownhamSalcombe24‑171016
3rdHall Pass3758Jasper BarnhamGraham SextonSnettisham Beach/Thorpe Bay656‑717
4thFaithless3703Richard WhitworthSally TownendHollingworth Lake/Parkstone3114‑2218
5th 3749Nick CraigAlan RobertsFrensham/Hayling4215‑1721
6thThe Darkside3733Tom StewartPhilip DalbyNorthampton1084‑1522
7thShabazzle3729Jon TurnerRichard ParslowLyme Regis(OCS)611623
8thRobert3756William WarrenMark OakbyShoreham7‑1912423
9thWild Card3656Olly TurnerAlex WarrenStarcross/Shoreham‑131310326
10thThe Phantom Menace3611Jen TaylorChris DoddsNottingham5‑2116526
11thTiger Tiger3696Alan WarrenBill CarrollShoreham‑20117826
12thThe Black Boat3734David HayesJonny RatcliffeHayling Island(DNF)9.551226.5
13thBlack Pearl3685Sophie MackleyJames WarrenShoreham15‑2331129
14thMonkey3707Alex JacksonSi HaightonShoreham9‑16111434
15thThe Empire Strikes Back3752Will RaineyAndy DouglasShoreham‑21782035
16thThe Bear3766Andy DalbyAndrea RalphHampton2217‑24241
17thMellow Yellow3687Matthew GreenfieldHannah PlayfordWembley1224‑25642
18thBear Neccessities3741Simon LyttonJackie LyttonHayling Island189.5‑2718.546
19thWhy Ask3740Pat BlakeJill BlakeCookham Reach1712‑2218.547.5
20thHot Totty3676Tim HarrisonFrances GiffordRanelagh25189‑2652
21stOakey Dokey3712Ian SharpsJustin DealBurghfield191518‑2352
22ndSalmon en Croute3702Duncan SalmonHarriet SalmonWembley142021‑2455
23rdDidley Pokey3754Jon GorringeToby LewisParkstone814(DNC)DNC58
24thPoint & Squirt3746Dan WillettPete NicholsonBrightlingsea(DNC)DNC13958
25thZeno3659Julian ParryBecca JonesHollingworth Lake‑2422231358
26thGeneral Lee3643Tim HarridgeDave ReidHampton16(DNF)282973
27thArbuckle3760Mark ReddingtonColin StaiteBartley26(DNF)192873
28thSnakey B3671Piers LambertAndy BinesBrightlingsea(DNC)DNC202177
29thStrings Attached3751Mark BarwellLouise JohnsonLymington Town232529‑3077
30thBernard3658Chris JenningsAlly MartinBurghfield11(DNF)DNCDNC83
31stStill Not Over3665Ross JacksonSarah WarrenShoreham272630(DNC)83
32ndPoint Break3625Richard BramleyTony ChealShoreham2827‑333186
33rdBlue Bird3683Ben JonesHelen HilditchTenby(DNC)DNC262587
34thBang Tidy3648Antonia WrightJamie WrightShoreham(DNC)DNC312794
35thOne Love3767Ben ArcherPhilippa DanielsParkstone(DNS)DNC32DNC104

Owners Association

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd


Merlin Rocket Owners Association